Interview // Kassia Meador

Photo By Jack Coleman

Photo By Jack Coleman

中文版本

There is always something going on with Kassia Meador. Whether it is going on a surf trip, working on her new wetsuit company KASSIA+SURF, taking photos or just hanging out at the house and being creative. It is non-stop action for her. Always doing something new and never sitting down. But what I love about Kassia is that she is an ambassador of “FUN” in surfing. It’s not all about the competition but more about the lifestyle and that’s why Kassia’s style is so appealing to me and the rest of the world. We’d like to Kassia for taking the time out of her hectic schedule to answer our interview question and wanted to congratulate her on her new wetsuit line KASSIA+SURF! 

Who are you and where are you currently right now?

My name is Kassia Meador. I’m in my studio in downtown LA. Working on some new creations.

When did you start surfing?

I started surfing when I was about 14 years old with the junior lifeguard program; after I learned how to surf I started going with my dad all the time. But because I was too young to drive and we didn’t live near the beach surfing was only for the weekends and during the summertime, until I was 16 and able to drive myself to the beach.

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

How did you get hooked up with Roxy?

It was my first trip to Australia. I was surfing at Tea tree bay and saw Joel Tudor with Jeff Hackman and Donald Takayama. I knew Joel from surfing Malibu and of course I knew who Jeff and Donald were but I did not know them personally and was so excited to see them all out together in the water. I got a few fun waves that day and Donald asked me who I was, basically Donald told Jeff he would make me surfboards if Jeff connected me with Roxy. I came back to California got the most magical surfboard from Donald’s, went to Ventura to compete in a Roxy contest, and from that day forward I was on an epic journey that brought me to where I am today.

How had being a part of Roxy team affected your life?

With Roxy I was able to travel to so many amazing places meet so many wonderful people and do what I love the most: surfing. It changed every thing for me and gave me the chance to live my passion and push myself. I also got the chance to start making my own wetsuits about seven years ago and learned so much from the process.

Photo By Ryan Heywood

Photo By Ryan Heywood

What’s your best travel memory? Why?

I think one of my best travel memories was when I was in Indonesia on a boat trip. I was there with a whole Roxy team and the waves were huge most of the spots we wanted to surf were erupting on themselves and impossible. Our captain Albert was the man and you have a bunch of waves that he had surfed before and others he was dying to check out. We ended up at this one perfect right some people knew, it’s called Springs but we started calling it Roxy’s that day. It was one of those experiences that you dream about as a surfer, the local people have no idea what we were doing. A bunch of women half naked riding waves on things that look like boats, with two local people that have never seen a surfboard before. Some of the locals paddled out in their canoes, sat in the channel and watched us ride waves screaming and yelling. One brave guy even paddled out and tried to catch a wave on his canoe and almost went over the falls. That was an experience that’ll stay with me forever and I feel so lucky to have had.

How did you first get involved in photography?

As a traveling surfer my mom always wanted to know what the places I was going to look like. She would give me her camera I would take some film and document my experiences. I started traveling with my camera and was always around really inspiring people who had a unique perspective on the world like Thomas Campbell, Michael Halsband, Joni Sternbach and others who would push me to look at the world in a different way.

Photo By Kassia Meador

Photo By Kassia Meador

Photo By Kassia Meador

Photo By Kassia Meador

What do you like to shoot?

I like to shoot all sorts of things the environment, my friends, new places and textures. I really like working with light, cross-processing, different film stocks, and multiple exposures to create surreal landscapes and images.

How would you describe your fashion style?

I guess I’m just pretty laid back I like being cozy and comfortable.

Photo By Unknown

Photo By Unknown

Photo By Jack Coleman

Photo By Jack Coleman

Tell us more about your KASSIA wetsuit collection.

With our first wetsuit collection I really wanted to make something very visually dynamic, technically functional and of Great quality. My inspiration for our first collection came from my infatuation with outer space and my love for the 70s and tie-dye.

Tell me about your current surfboard quiver and what board you have been riding the most.

Right now I’m riding 9’3″ model T Donald Takayama longboard, a Dane Peterson 9’4″ pig, a 5’3 Arch tail swallow, and 5’3 dark crystal both from Mandala, and a 6’4 single fin and 6’3 bonzer from Dead Kooks.

Photo By Jack Coleman

Photo By Jack Coleman

Photo by Unknown

Photo by Unknown

Can you tell us about your relationship with Captain Fin Co.

Mitch Abshere and the guys from Captain Fin Co. are awesome and have always been very supportive of my surfing, photography and designs. It’s always super fun to go on road trips surfing, making cool surf videos and working on new fin designs with those guys!!!

What do you want to see more in women’s surfing?

I just want to see more women surfing and pushing the limits. It’s so cool when you see women surfing well; it gets me so excited to go surfing more. I hope as more people start enjoying the ocean we will all work harder to keep it clean and healthy.

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

Photo By Nathan Oldfield

What advices to you have for women and girls that are just starting to get into surfing?

Just go surfing as much as you can!!! And never get discouraged surfing takes a lifetime to learn, and its not the best one in the water its the one having the best experience.

What can we expect to see from KASSIA Wetsuits and yourself in the future?

Just stick with us and find out for yourselves it’s a long journey….

Kassia + Surf

Kassia Meador + Photography

Instagram @kassiasurf

One thought on “Interview // Kassia Meador

Leave a Reply

